This is an alternative scheme for the South East region.

Summary benefits:
Retention of a Beaconsfield constituency
More compact constituencies in East Berkshire, East Sussex and Kent
Avoiding dividing wards in Hampshire
Avoiding dividing Reigate/Redhill and Maidstone

The same pattern of subgroups is used as in the initial proposals.

No changes were made to Newport Pagnell, Milton Keynes, Buckingham and Bletchley, and Aylesbury. In addition, my proposed "Chiltern Ridgeway" constituency is the same as the Princes Risborough constituency. (N.B. Due to difficulties splitting wards, the Chiltern Ridges ward is not split in the supplementary file, although I would retain this division.)

The Chesham and Amersham constituency includes Tylers Green and Loudwater instead of Beaconsfield. This allows Beaconsfield to remain in a constituency similar to the existing Beaconsfield constituency. The Marlow ward is transferred to High Wycombe constituency, which could be renamed "High Wycombe and Marlow".

There are no changes with the initial proposals.

The Sevenoaks, Tonbridge, Dartford, Gravesham, Rochester and Strood, Gillingham and Rainham, Sittingbourne and Sheppey, Canterbury, Thanet West, Thanet East, Tunbridge Wells, and Dover constituencies are unchanged.

The Folkestone and Hythe constituency is expanded to include the Saxon Shore ward, which would be an orphan ward. However, this ward is in the existing Folkestone and Hythe constituency so has good links with rest of the constituency. The Ashford constituency is expanded to include the Kingsnorth Village and Bridgefield ward.

The main change is in Mid Kent, where I have tried to unite the town of Maidstone into a single constituency called "Maidstone". This includes the Shepway North, Shepway South, Park Wood, Downswood and Otham, and Bearsted wards. The Faversham and Mid Kent constituency thus extends southwards, taking in eight wards from the proposed Weald of Kent constituency. The remaining wards form part of a "Malling and Tenterden" constituency, stretching from Larkfield in the north to the Isle of Oxney in the south. A possible alternative name is "Malling and South Kent". This constituency is not ideal, as it is long and thin, and the community links are questionable. However, there was no reasonable alternative to accommodate Maidstone. Finally, Aylesford South ward is transferred to Chatham and Aylesford in exchange for the two Larkfield wards.

East and West Sussex:
There is no change in West Sussex except in the Mid Sussex district. The Mid Sussex constituency is expanded to include the Ardingly and Balcombe ward.

There is no change to the Hove, Brighton Pavilion, Brighton Kemptown, Lewes and Eastbourne constituencies. The Uckfield and East Grinstead constituency contains Framfield and Cross-in-Hand, and Chiddingly, East Hoathly and Waldron wards, in exchange for Hartfield and Forest Row wards. This is to better accommodate my proposed "High Weald" constituency, the largest change to the proposals. This would unite the High Weald AONB into one constituency, broadly following the River Rother from Crowborough to Rye. The Hastings constituency thus orients northwards, to become a "Hastings and Battle" constituency, while the remaining wards form a "Bexhill and Hailsham" constituency. The High Weald constituency forms a good community of interest, and the other two constituencies are more compact as a consequence.

Berkshire, Hampshire and Surrey:
There is no change to the Reading, Mid Berkshire and Newbury constituencies. (N.B. Due to difficulties splitting wards, the Downlands ward is not split in the supplementary file, although I would retain this division.) Additionally, the Earley and Woodley constituency is marginally expanded to include Swallowfield ward.

The Wokingham constituency loses its northern portion while incorporating Sandhurst town, to become "Wokingham and Sandhurst". Thus Bracknell extends eastwards to become "Bracknell and Ascot", incorporating Ascot, Ascot and Sunninghill, and Sunningdale and Cheapside. The Windsor constituency takes in Binfield with Warfield, and Winkfield and Cranbourne instead. The remaining wards form a Maidenhead constituency. My proposed Maidenhead constituency is more compact than the proposal, no longer stretching to the Surrey border and uniting all Ascot wards in a single constituency. The Slough constituency is unchanged; although the division of Langley is regrettable, it is unavoidable.

The Windsor constituency still contains the two Egham wards. There is no further change to Spelthorne, Weybridge and Chertsey, Esher and Walton, Woking, Surrey Heath and Guildford. Additionally, the Godalming constituency (which could also be called "Godalming and Ash") includes the Elstead and Thurley ward, while the Farnham and Bordon constituency includes the Whitehill Hogmoor and Greatham ward. This unites all of the Bordon and Whitehill wards together in a single constituency.

The East Surrey constituency is substantially altered, taking in the Horley wards, Charlwood, Beare Green, and Capel, Leigh and Newdigate. In exchange, the wards covering Caterham, and Hooley, Merstham and Netherne, are transferred to a "Reigate and Caterham" constituency. The Merstham and South Park areas ought to be included in a Reigate constituency, as they are in my proposal. The Epsom and Ewell constituency extends eastwards to include Nork and Banstead Village, while the area around Leatherhead and Ashtead is transferred to "Dorking and Leatherhead", as are the Tattenham Corner, and Lower Kingswood, Tadworth and Walton wards. While this does divide the Banstead area somewhat, I believe the gains from keeping Reigate/Redhill in one constituency outweigh this disadvantage.

In Hampshire, there are no changes to the Havant, Portsmouth North, Portsmouth South, Gosport, Southampton Itchen, Southampton Test, New Forest East, New Forest West and Aldershot constituencies. The main disadvantage with the existing proposals is the division of Oakley and The Candovers ward, which is avoided in my scheme. The North East Hampshire no longer contains Basing and Upton Grey, or part of Oakley and The Candovers. It instead includes Tadley ward. There was no way to avoid the division of Yateley.

The Basingstoke constituency also no longer contains its part of Oakley and The Candovers. The North West Hampshire constituency loses Whitchurch, Overton and Laverstoke, as well as Tadley, in exchange for four Test Valley wards to the south of Andover. This allows the greater Andover area to be kept in one constituency. There is a new Mid Hampshire constituency, which does not correspond to any of the existing constituencies. It contains the aforementioned Basingstoke and Deane wards, as well as the northern part of East Hampshire (around Alton) and the north-eastern part of Winchester district (covering Alresford, the Upper Meon Valley, the Worthys and Micheldever). Winchester city and the southern part of Winchester district is included in a "Winchester and Romsey" constituency, which also includes all remaining Test Valley wards except Valley Park and Chilsworth, Nursling and The Rownhams.

These two wards are included in an "Eastleigh and Southampton North" constituency, which is the main successor to Eastleigh. The West End wards are transferred to the Hedge End constituency, while the Fair Oak ward is transferred to a new "Fareham" constituency, which takes Botley, Whiteley and Shedfield, and Titchfield wards from Hedge End. This leaves the remaining wards to form a "Waterlooville and Petersfield" constituency, which unites Waterlooville and Horndean in one constituency.

Type of respondent

Member of the public

Personal details



Comment type