Summary of the 2023 Review process

This is a very brief summary of the rules, policy and process for the constituencies review. More detailed information can be found in our Guide to the 2023 Review

Dec 2020 - March 2021: Establishing the data for the review

Working with our counterparts in Scotland, Wales, and Northern Ireland, the Local Government Boundary Commission for England, the Office for National Statistics, and electoral registration officers in local authorites across England, we determine the overall Parliamentary electorate of the UK as at 2 March 2020, and the local government boundaries as they exist - or were 'in prospect' - on 1 December 2020 (these operative dates are fixed in the legislation). The particular distribution of this electorate across the UK also determines how many constituencies each part of the UK is allocated: of 650 total UK constituencies, England is allocated 543, which we sub-divide on the same basis between the English regions, as follows:

  • Eastern - 61
  • East Midlands - 47
  • London - 75
  • North East - 27
  • North West - 73
  • South East - 91
  • South West - 58
  • West Midlands - 57
  • Yorkshire and the Humber - 54

March - May 2021: Develop initial proposals

We develop initial proposals for the whole of England. In doing so, we take into account the overall numbers above, together with a number of other statutory factors: - with only two exceptions (for the Isle of Wight), every constituency we recommend must contain between 69,724 and 77,062 Parliamentary electors (as at 2 March 2020);

  • physical geography considerations, such as major roads and waterways, size, shape and accessibility of a constituency;
  • local government boundaries (as they existed or were in prospect as at 1 December 2020);
  • existing constituency boundaries;
  • local ties that would be broken by changes to constituencies;
  • inconveniences that may flow from changes to constituencies.

8 June - 2 August 2021: Consultation on initial proposals

There is an eight week period of public consultation on our proposals, during which we encourage people to give us their views through this website, in particular describing alternatives they believe would be better.

Early 2022: Secondary consultation and public hearings

All of the responses to the first consultation are published and there is a six-week period of 'secondary consultation', during which people can give us their views on what others have said in the first consultation. There are no new proposals from us at this stage. During this six week period, we will also hold a limited number of public hearings in each English region (more details of these hearings will be made available closer to the time).

Late 2022: Third and final consultation

After analysing all the responses from the first and second consultations, we will make appropriate changes to our initial proposals and publish these 'revised proposals' for a final four-week period of public consultation.

By 1 July 2023: Final report and recommendations

After analysing all the responses to the third consultation, we will make appropriate changes to our revised proposals, and submit our final report and recommendations. This is the end of our involvement in the process.

Late 2023: Recommendations made into law

Within four months of the last of the four Commissions submitting their report, the UK Government must prepare the Order that would bring all their recommendations into law. Following recent changes, this Order no longer needs the approval of Parliament: it is sent directly to the Privy Council. If the Privy Council approves, the new constituencies are used at the next General election following that (not at any interim by-elections).